@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Bars

20121030-122947.jpg

These are really helping me not eat the Reese’ Pieces I bought to give out for Halloween.. another one from The Betty Rocker that I made very few changes to. They are SO easy to make!

Ingredients

1 cup all natural Peanut Butter (that means no ingredients except the nuts – I used Maranatha crunchy brand that has a “hint of sea salt”)
1/4 cup Coconut Oil
1 1/3 cups (or approximately 4 scoops) chocolate Protein Powder – I use Isoflex because that’s what I had on hand. Use whatever kind you like!
2 T cacao powder
1 cup Almond Meal Flour
1/4 cup milled/ground Chia Seeds
1/4 cup, plus 2 T enjoy life mini chocolate chips
1/4 cup plus 2 T shredded unsweetened Coconut Flakes
2-3 T peanuts, chopped (optional)

1. Measure peanut butter and coconut oil into a microwave safe bowl. Microwave the ingredients together for 1 minute. You can heat them up in a saucepan if you like, whatever you’re comfortable with.

2. Remove from heat and mix the two ingredients together with a fork until evenly blended.

3. Add protein powder, almond meal flour, ground chia seeds, 1/4 cup chocolate chips, 1/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes to the mixture and stir until well mixed. You’ll get a consistency that’s slightly sticky, but dry enough to handle.

4. Scoop the batter into an ungreased 9×9″ pan and press it down evenly.

5. Sprinkle the chopped peanuts, 2 T cacao nibs and 2 T coconut flakes over top and press them into the batter with a spatula (or your hands). I had a bit of the peanut butter + coconut oil mixture left over so I drizzled it on top

6. Cover and freeze for about 20 minutes, then cut into bars. They will be fine kept in the refrigerator after their original quick freeze.

Enjoy!! I made about 16 squares, should last me the week!

9 comments on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Bars

  1. fabbylousness
    October 31, 2012

    are there replacements for the protein powder? i hesitate to make so many recipes on IG because they require protein powder and I don’t use any >.<

    • dieffs
      November 1, 2012

      Hey!
      I believe you can use powdered egg whites – thats what bettyrocker used, I’ve never tried them thought so I have no idea how it would taste … let me know if you try it 🙂

      • fabbylousness
        November 20, 2012

        where do you even get powdered egg whites?! lol!! but i will look for it and let u know if i try it 😀 thanks!!!

      • dieffs
        November 20, 2012

        Haha, my mom gave me some. I’m sure you can find it at whole foods – I haven’t used it yet.. Not sure of the taste :s

  2. Judy
    January 18, 2013

    so these would be a good “treat” when you need a little pick me up after dinner perhaps? Are all your recipes healthy?

    • dieffs
      January 20, 2013

      Hi Judy, yes all my recipes are healthy. These would be a great great after dinner! Just try not to have tooo many of them 🙂

  3. Jessica
    February 10, 2013

    Do you think you could sub the peanut butter with almond butter?

  4. Alis P
    March 19, 2014

    is there a sub for chia seeds?? i only have flax meal :S

    • dieffs
      March 19, 2014

      You can leave the chia seeds out 🙂

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on October 30, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .