@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Apple Pie Paleo Granola

2015/01/img_6756-0.jpg
Pinterest is the best. Seriously, if you ever want to learn how to do anything, use Pinterest.
If you’re not following me on Pinterest already, my username is “dieffs” 🙂

This past weekend I went on a search for Paleo meal prep and snack ideas. My boyfriend is a snack monster. His latest fav is frozen fruits, which is awesome because any fruits that are almost going bad at the end of the week can be frozen…. and tada! We have saved money.

He also loves Apple Pie, so when I went on a search for a Paleo Granola recipe I was so happy to come across this one from Multiply Delicious

It does take a little work, but I promise you it’s worth it. Our whole apartment smelled like homemade apple pie.

I made a few modifications to the original recipe which I have bolded.

Ingredients
1/2 cup almonds
1/2 cup pecans
1/2 cup walnuts
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup cashews
10 medjool dates
1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon ground allspice
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup unsweetened apple sauce
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
2 tablespoons honey
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
Add nuts, and unsweetened shredded coconut to a bowl of a food processor and pulse to slightly chop nuts. Add spices and salt and pulse again to evenly distribute.

In a food processor/ninja blend together apple sauce, oil, honey, dates and vanilla extract. Place wet ingredient into the bowl with the nut mixture and combine.

Evenly spread mixture across a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

Place in oven for 30 to 35 minutes until golden. Stop to stir ingredients halfway through the baking so the edges do not get over brown. It will allow things to cook evenly. The granola will harden up once cooled completely.

Store granola in an airtight container, and consume slowly. It is quite addicting.

2 comments on “Apple Pie Paleo Granola

  1. Julia
    January 18, 2015

    Looks tasty! I just made Gingerbread Granola in my slow cooker, which I am trying to devour slowly, but this may be my next batch.

    • dieffs
      January 19, 2015

      Gingerbread granola sounds amazing!!! I’ll definitely have to try that soon!!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on January 18, 2015 by in Nutrition, Recipes.