@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Meal Prep Madness!

90846af074aa11e2b8e822000a1fbcc7_7
Why meal prep?

Meal prepping saves time, money and is great for staying on track with your goals.
I’m going to give you a breakdown of how I do my meal prep, tips and tricks that I use and what a typical day looks like for me.

Here are the steps I take:
1. Make a meal plan
2. Make a grocery list with sections
3. Take pictures of fridge
4. Scan flyers, price match! I use the “Flipp” app to help me with price matching.
5. Do Work

Breakdown
1. Make a Meal Plan
Think of your week and what your schedule looks like.
You ideally want to have 3 meals, and 2 or 3 snacks. Create a meal plan based on your schedule.

My day usually looks like this:
Breakfast: Whatever I feel like, with a green smoothie or veggie juice.
AM Snack: Fruit + Nuts/Seeds
Lunch: Meat, veggies and some complex carbs (I eat mostly paleo, so it’s usually sweet potato and a ton of vegetables)
PM Snack: Protein Shake (Post workout, need protein)
Dinner: Meat, veggies and complex carbs.
Late night snack: This is the hardest, this is when the night time munchies attack. Stay cool and stay in control. Veggies, veggies and more veggies!

On Sundays, I grocery shop and meal prep for the week. The first two days worth of food I keep in the fridge, the rest I freeze.
Freezing works if you have plastic containers, not glass.

Here’s a great template that can help you out.
Weekly Meal Planner Pic

2. Make a Grocery List with Sections
Now that you have your meal plan, you know what you need to buy so make a list!
Start with your Fruits and Vegetables. This should take up about 50% of your list.
Meats should be about 25%
Milk, Dairy, Eggs and Grains should be the other 25%
Buy enough for the week, but not too much otherwise it will spoil. Try to stick to fruits and vegetables that are in season.

Here’s a great guide by Fit Men Cook to help you out.
dcf785805ebf11e285a622000a1f9e5b_7

3. Take pictures of fridge
This will help you remember what you already have, and make you think of things you need.
I have these checklists that are right on my fridge to help me with making my grocery list.
“All Out of Lists”

4. Scan flyers
Bargain shop! Look for sales and coupons.

5. Do Work
Multitask like there’s no tomorrow.
If you’re going to be baking chicken, get your quinoa or rice boiling, chop your veggies, make your fruit packs.
There’s always ways to get through your meal prep quickly and efficiently.
Here’s a portion chart to help you out when packing up your meals.
HW_HandPortionChart_1222
You’re going to want to invest in some good tupperware. Make sure it’s freezer and microwave safe!

Other Tips & Tricks
– Keep healthy snacks on hand. Keep the junk out of the house!
– NEVER go grocery shopping hungry.
– Stock up on spices. I buy in bulk and use re-fillable bottles.

Please comment below with your favorite meal prepping ideas!

5 comments on “Meal Prep Madness!

  1. Stylisoulstar
    February 14, 2013

    Absolutely love this..I am already planning out my meals but I need to step it up a notch!

  2. Mel
    February 28, 2013

    What are your favorite veggie’s to have for snacks? Do you do raw or cooked veggie snacks or both.

  3. tara
    May 24, 2013

    Awesome! Thanks for all this info. I love the meal planner. I seriously cannot function without it.

  4. the tao of badass scam
    July 13, 2013

    Pretty! This was an incredibly wonderful post.
    Thanks for providing this info.

  5. getaways
    September 1, 2013

    I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.

    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade content
    by you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities
    has inspired me to get my own site now 😉

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 13, 2013 by in Nutrition.
