@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Plantain Chips

20121216-133651.jpg

I love plantain chips more than words can say. I seriously have a sick addiction to them. After finding out that canola oil is not paleo, I was banned from eating the delicious crunchy store bought ones. Decided to make my own instead!

Ingredients
1 ripe plantain
Coconut oil, melted
Seasoning (salt, pepper, cayenne, whatever you’re in the mood for!)

Method
Preheat oven to 350.
Line a baking pan with parchment paper.
Peel and slice your plantain into thin slices, not too thin though, they will burn.
Brush each side with coconut oil, lightly.
Sprinkle with desired seasoning and bake for 30 mins, flipping once in between.
Enjoy!

3 comments on “Plantain Chips

  1. Tamara
    December 19, 2012

    OMG! I am addicted as well! I have been pan frying them with coconut oil, cinnamon and allspice and they are so delicious!

  2. jessie r
    January 9, 2013

    Can also be done on the stove. Way faster:) coco oil in a pan, slice and season. Brown both sides (about 1-2 minutes each side… Don’t burn them!), then take a fork or back of a spoon, or your hand if you want?!? And smash them flat, quickly brown again.

    • dieffs
      January 9, 2013

      Thanks Jessie! I make them on the stove all the time, I found with baking them I used less oil, and I was free to do other things in the meantime! Thanks for the suggestion though!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2012 by in Recipes.
