@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Paleo “PB&J” Pancakes

20121207-110851.jpg

I’m sorry if you thought I had a magical way of making peanut butter paleo, but these pancakes taste about as close to peanut butter as paleo can get! I paired them with some strawberry “jam” and started my Friday off right! These pancakes are ridiculously easy to make. Within half an hour this morning I made these pancakes, made the jam and packed my boyfriends lunch bag for the day (2 meals, salad, fruit bowl and mixed nuts).

Ingredients (All ingredients are Whole30 Friendly, making pancakes is not)
Makes approx. 10 pancakes and 2 servings of jam
Pancakes
1 medium sized ripe banana, mashed
2 eggs
1/4 cup coconut milk
1/4 cup unsalted roasted almond butter
pinch of cinnamon
1 cup almond meal/flour

Strawberry “Jam”
1 1/2 cups frozen strawberries
4-6 dates (depending on how sweet or tart you like your jam)
1 cup water

Method
Mix all wet ingredients for your pancakes well. All almond meal/flour + cinnamon and mix well.
Pour 1/4 cup at a time into a heated lightly oiled frying pan. Cook over medium high heat for 2-3 minutes (wait for bubbles) and then flip and cook for another 30seconds-minute.

While you are cooking your pancakes, make your strawberry topping.
Add strawberries, dates and water to a saucepan and bring to a boil. Let this mixture boil for about 5 mins, stirring occasionally. Reduce heat to med-high and continue to let it reduce until mixture thickens to desired consistency. This should take about 10 minutes total.

Layer between pancakes, spoon some on top and enjoy!

11 comments on “Paleo “PB&J” Pancakes

  1. Chloe
    December 7, 2012

    do you have nutrition facts/ portion size for any of your recipes?

    • dieffs
      December 7, 2012

      I usually put how much the recipe will make – not the calories. I personally do not count calories. You can use the myfitnessapp to calculate the calories 🙂

  2. Jenny
    December 17, 2012

    Hi! This recipe sounds amazing! I hope to get to try it this weekend. I want to make it for my friends!
    Thanks!

  3. Judy
    January 18, 2013

    confused by your title.. so do these have peanut butter in between the layers or not?

    • dieffs
      January 20, 2013

      These do not have any peanut butter at all, they are almond butter pancakes, with a fruit compote in between 🙂

  4. Diana Cote
    January 30, 2013

    I don’t know what happened but I followed the directions and used the exact quantities and I got some stiff dough, I added more liquid to help but that didn’t help either and when I tasted it it was terrible. Do you think maybe the flour amount is wrong? Maybe it’s a tbsp instead of a cup?

    • dieffs
      February 2, 2013

      Hi Diana, I’m very sorry that it didn’t work out for you, it could be the type of almond butter that you used. I used one that was “no-stir”. If you decide to try it again, add the almond flour 1/4 cup at a time until it reaches the right consistency. Also, make sure your banana is very ripe it will add to the sweetness! Good luck!

  5. Judy
    February 3, 2013

    I made these and they did not hold well, when I flipped them they would break. It was so frustrating 😦 Also the mix did not make 10 pancakes.. something was off

    • dieffs
      February 4, 2013

      Hi Judy, I’m sorry that they didn’t hold together well for you. It may have been the type of almond butter you used. I used Maranthana brand “no-stir” and also the batter made 10 smaller pancakes, about 5 cm in diameter. If you do want to try the recipe again, try adding 1/4 cup almond meal/flour at a time until you’ve reached the right consistency. Good luck!

  6. toya
    February 13, 2013

    Can I use oat flour in place of almond flour

    • dieffs
      February 14, 2013

      Yes oat flour should work fine. I would suggest adding 1/4 cup at a time until it reaches the right consistency

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 7, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
