@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Paleo Blueberry Banana Nut Muffins

20121203-201405.jpg

This has to be my favorite flavour combination. Actually, I have a lot so this is one of them.
A modified recipe from my good friend Nutty 4 Nutrition. Thank you Chantal, for feeding me once again!

Whole30 Friendly Ingredients
3 medium very ripe bananas
4 eggs
1 tbsp vanilla extract
3/4 cup light coconut milk
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 cup almond meal/flour
1/2 cup coconut flour
1 cup bluberries
1/4 cup crushed pecans (optional)

Method
1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Line a muffin baking pan with muffin liners.
3. In a bowl, mash banana well. Add eggs, vanilla, coconut milk, cinnamon and nutmeg. Whisk well to combine.
4. Once that is combined, add almond flour and combine. Add coconut flour and combine.
5. Fold in blueberries.
6. Spoon mixture into lined muffin baking pan.
7. Sprinkle with pecans, if desired.
8. Bake for 30 mins.
ENJOY as always:)

18 comments on “Paleo Blueberry Banana Nut Muffins

  1. Ainsley
    December 4, 2012

    This recipe looks amazing! I’m definitely going to try it…..I love reading your blog! So much good info and inspiration, keep up the good work!

    • dieffs
      December 4, 2012

      Thank you! Glad I can inspire you!

  2. Melissa Tai (@elisayshello)
    December 4, 2012

    I was wondering can I use WW flour instead of coconut flour?I can’t find it anywhere here where I live and if so,how many cups then?

    • dieffs
      December 4, 2012

      You most definitely can, if you’re not paleo. If you are paleo, sub for 1/2 cup more of almond meal. If you’re not paleo, sub for 1/2 cup WW flour

  3. Beth
    December 8, 2012

    Can you replace the coconut milk with almond milk?

  4. Dome
    January 10, 2013

    why is there no baking powder or soda in those? do they get fluffy and light? thank you for answering

    • dieffs
      January 10, 2013

      They are pretty fluffy and light. I didn’t use baking powder or soda because I made them while I was doing the whole30. Feel free to add some if you like!

  5. Katie
    February 1, 2013

    Could i sub the almond flour out for all coconut? Or even replace it with an egg white protein powder?

    • dieffs
      February 1, 2013

      I would not suggest it, these are already pretty dense, and adding more coconut flour will make it worse. I’ve personally never used THAT much egg white protein in a recipe, so I’m not sure how it will turn out. Are you allergic to almonds?

  6. Katie
    February 1, 2013

    no, i just don’t happen to have any almond flour on hand right now. Thank-you for your help though! I’ll have to run out to get some soon 🙂

    • dieffs
      February 2, 2013

      you can always make your own if you have a decent food processor! 🙂

  7. liz
    March 5, 2013

    Can i sub coconut flour with oat flour?

    • dieffs
      March 6, 2013

      You can, but you would have to change the other quantities of ingredients. I’d have to personally play around with it to get the right amount! If you try it, maybe try about 1/2 cup oat flour and 2 eggs? Let me know how it turns out!

  8. Evelyn
    November 5, 2014

    I’m allergic to almond flour. Do you think I can substitute the almond flour for tapioca flour? Or do you suggest something else.

  9. Evelyn
    November 12, 2014

    Can I substitute tapioca flour for the almond flour. I’m allergic to nuts.

    • dieffs
      December 29, 2014

      I have personally never used tapioca flour so I’m not sure how it would work in this recipe. Sorry!

  10. Pingback: Almost there!! … | Taste and see...

Leave a Reply

