@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Slow Cooker Butter Chicken (Whole30 Friendly)

20121124-135047.jpg

I think ever since I discovered Ghee is Whole30 approved, I keep trying to find different ways to use it.
I love butter chicken. I don’t know why they call it butter chicken, there isn’t even that much butter in it. It’s more like tomato chicken.
Here’s my take on a slow cooked absolutely amazing paleo butter chicken, I added butternut squash for a bit more depth since yogurt is not Whole30 or Paleo approved.

Ingredients
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed
6 cloves of garlic, minced
1 medium onion, chopped
2 tbsp ghee
2 tsp curry powder/paste
1/2 tsp cayenne
1/2 tsp chili flakes (I like my food spicy, leave this out if you don’t)
2 tsp garam masala
2 tsp tandoori masala (Make sure it has no sugar!)
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1 can light coconut milk
1 can tomato paste
1 can diced tomatoes, drained
15 cardamon pods
Juice of one lemon

Method
I know, there’s a lot of ingredients, but I promise you, it’s easy to make.
1. Heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Add ghee. Once ghee is heated through, add chicken, garlic, onions and spices. Cook until onions are almost translucent.
2. In your slow cooker, add coconut milk, tomato paste, diced tomatoes, cardamon, + lemon juice. Stir to create a sauce.
3. Add chicken mixture into the sauce, mix well and set slow cooker to 10 hours.
4. I baked a small butternut squash, peeled and cubed it and added it in after the 10 hours. This is totally optional, but I find it worked really well!

Serve over cauliflower rice, or eat on it’s own!

Enjoy:)

Before serving, remove cardamon pods.

One comment on “Slow Cooker Butter Chicken (Whole30 Friendly)

  1. Dee
    July 5, 2013

    I adore this recipe I’m a huge whole30 lover but I eat this even when I’m not doing whole30! Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

