@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Sweet Potato Lasagna (Whole30 Friendly)

20121120-181609.jpg

I guess you could call this a casserole or whatever. I’m calling it my sweet potato lasagna because I took the time to slice the sweet potato thinly and evenly with my mandolin. That thing scares me, I sliced my thumb with it once and never used it again. Today I held my sweet potato with an oven mitt.. cut free! Wooohooo!

Ingredients
1 lb extra lean ground turkey
1 medium onion, chopped
1/2 cup chopped red pepper
1/2 cup chopped yellow pepper
1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
1 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp cayenne
pinch of salt
1 tbsp garlic powder
3 cups tomato sauce (I used bottled, no sugar added)
1/2 cup water
Handful of spinach leaves
1 large sweet potato

Feel free to add cheese to this, I did not because I’m doing the whole30 program.

Method
1. Preheat your oven to 350.
2. Brown your turkey meat in a pot with onion and spices.
3. When meat is completely cooked, add peppers, tomato sauce and water. Let simmer for 10 mins.
4. While that mixture is simmering, peel and slice your sweet potato. I used a mandolin, but you can attempt to do it by hand.
5. Grease a 9×9 baking pan with some coconut oil or EVOO and lets begin to layer.
Layer some meat sauce, a layer of sweet potatoes, then sauce, then sweet potato, then sauce, spinach, more sauce and sweet potato.
Cover baking dish with foil and bake for 30 mins.
After 30 mins, remove the foil and bake for another 15 mins.

Let cool and serve.

Serves 6.

12 comments on “Sweet Potato Lasagna (Whole30 Friendly)

  1. julie
    November 24, 2012

    omggg this looks AMAZING! i just started whole30 3 days ago and so far i’m LOVING it – i love all of these recipes you’re sharing – keep them coming girl!

    • dieffs
      November 24, 2012

      thanks! this is my second time doing the whole30 so still trying to be as creative as possible. Hope you enjoy this recipe! xo

  2. Jenn
    November 28, 2012

    I wanted to stop by to let you know that I made this last night and it was delicious! So good that I’m making another one today! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Meal Planning for the MONTH of January | Life as a Lilly blog

  4. Denise
    January 9, 2013

    Just made this tonight and was delicious! Follow you on IG and love to see your inspiration and food! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Nelly
    January 24, 2013

    Finally made this and it came out delicious. I recommend everyone try this recipe.

  6. Silvia Lazala
    April 16, 2013

    Might be my favorite sweet potato dish yet! Loved it. Couldn’t stop eating it.

    • dieffs
      April 16, 2013

      Thank you so much! Glad you liked it:)

  7. I think that this is a very lovely post you got here.

    Is it ok if I liked your article on my facebook with your link and
    the header of the page:”Sweet Potato Lasagna (Whole30 Friendly) “?
    I found your blog as I was searching cartilage jewelry and I think that I was extremely fortunate
    for doing so.
    Regards!!
    Our Cartilage Earrings Group

  8. Pingback: Great Healthy Meals - Fun Healthy Recipes

  9. Mary Fuller
    September 4, 2015

    I used your recipe and modified it a bit and it turned out delicious. Instead of slicing the sweet potato, I diced it and added it to the sauce. Additionally, I added a little zucchini and yellow sauce. I simmered it until all the veggies were tender and then served it as a spaghetti sauce over spiral cut zucchini as the noodles. It is also great served over spaghetti squash. A touch of parmesan cheese on top and it is to die for. Yummmmm. I have used carrots in my sauce before to sweeten the sauce w/o using sugar, but the sweet potatoes were much better The touch of cayenne pepper totally complements the sweet potatoes..I have also used the sauce to make a version of the lasagna using zucchini strips instead of sweet potato. They are really good if you grill or roast them first with a little garlic salt before adding them to the casserole. Thanks again for the great ideas.

  10. Mary Fuller
    September 4, 2015

    Correction to last reply. I added zucchini and yellow SQUASH not sauce.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 20, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , .
