@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Pumpkin Gingerbread Pancakes with Cinnamon Syrup (Paleo)

20121005-102245.jpg

I’ve been on quite a pancake making spree for the past couple of days because I wasn’t allowed to have them while doing the Whole30.
I was determined to find a recipe I could incorporate pumpkin puree into, after all tis the season for pumpkin everything! I tried a recipe yesterday and failed miserably, but I’m not one to give up.
Found a recipe in one of my cookbooks and tweaked it to make these delicious little guys. So easy, and SO GOOD.

Ingredients
Pancakes:
1/4 cup almond meal
1/3 cup coconut flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
3/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 cup pumpkin puree (I used canned, feel free to use homemade)
5 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup coconut milk

Syrup
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
cinnamon to taste (I used about 1/2 tsp)

Method
1. Mix all dry ingredients for the pancakes in a large bowl.
2. Add wet ingredients and mix well with a hand mixer.
3. Spoon batter into a non-stick skillet and cook like regular pancakes, about 2 min on each side. Cook on med-high heat.
4. While pancakes are cooking make your syrup. You can either microwave the syrup for 30 seconds with the cinnamon, or heat up in a saucepan. I microwaved because it was faster, and I’m all about saving time in the morning!

ENJOY with LOTS of syrup.
Batter makes about 8-10 small pancakes 🙂

Leave a Reply

