@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Paleo Lemon Bars

20130116-144614.jpg

Yummmooo! Another recipe I found in one of my new cookbooks “Now Eat This! Diet” I paleo-fied it and changed it up a bit and the end result was incredible!
Thanksgiving is next week (I’m from Canada, ours is in October) so I’m trying out dessert recipes to bring to family dinner. I know there’s going to be a ton of junk there, so I won’t feel sooo bad having something clean. 🙂

Ingredients
Crust:
1 cup almond meal
2 tbsp coconut oil
1 tsp pure maple syrup

Filling:
Grated lemon zest from 2 lemons (about 1 1/2 tsp)
Juice from 2 lemons (about 1/2 cup)
2 eggs
1/4 cup pure maple syrup
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup almond meal
1/2 teaspoon sea salt

Method
1. Preheat oven to 350.
2. Mix all ingredients for the crust together in a bowl. Mixture should be crumbly.
3. Press mixture down into a 8×8 baking dish evenly. Bake for 8-10 mins – or until it starts to brown.
4. While the crust is baking, mix together eggs, lemon zest and maple syrup in a bowl.
5. In a separate bowl mix together almond meal, baking powder and sea salt.
6. Mix both bowls together and then whisk lemon juice in.
7. Take your crust out of the oven, and pour mixture on top. Bake for 10 mins – or until filling is firm.
8. Let COOL (best if you refrigerate overnight) and then slice into bars, or squares. Top with lemon slices if you like!

Enjoy!

22 comments on “Paleo Lemon Bars

  1. Amylou
    October 2, 2012

    Do you know nutritional values? Looks DELISH girl!

    • dieffs
      October 3, 2012

      I don’t knoww sorry! I think theres an app “My fitness pal” I’ve seen other instagrammers use to calculate calories. I don’t count them!

  2. Tifflyn
    October 3, 2012

    I tried making these and it definitely didn’t come out right. Do you use a coarse or fine almond meal? Either way my filling didn’t set right? Is the texture suppose to be cake like?

    • dieffs
      October 3, 2012

      Hey! The texture is spongy. You have to let it chill completely, it actually turned out better after refrigerating. Also, what size pan are you using?

    • dieffs
      October 3, 2012

      Also I used fine almond meal – store bought (bobs red mill brand)

      • crystaleu
        January 22, 2013

        can i use almond powder or almond flour ?

  3. fgslim
    January 16, 2013

    Reblogged this on fgslim and commented:
    I’ve been looking alot recently into Paleo foods and this has just tipped me over the edge! Can’t wait to make these for my family!

  4. Euselyn
    January 17, 2013

    What can I use instead of coconut oil?

  5. Euselyn
    January 17, 2013

    Hi!! It looks delicious!! But I have a question? What can I use instead of coconut oil?

  6. crystal
    January 23, 2013

    Hi, can I use almond powder instead of almond meal ? And also obey instead of maple syrup ? Because I don’t think I have it in my country.

    • dieffs
      January 23, 2013

      I’m sorry I don’t know what almond powder is, is it just grounded almonds? If so yes. Maple syrup or agave syrup will work fine, honey may work too

  7. crystaleu
    January 24, 2013

    it’s almond in powder form.

    • dieffs
      January 24, 2013

      Should work fine. I’ve personally never used almond powder but almond meal/flour is ground almonds, into a flour consistency so I’m assuming it would be similar. Good luck!

  8. I have lemons on my counter right now! I’m going to give these a try! I found your site through Pinterest and I’m looking forward to exploring your other recipes.

  9. Alexis
    February 3, 2013

    I’ve been following your blog for a while and have experimented with many of your recipes. I love them all but this is my favorite by far! I love your work! Thank you so much for sharing it with the rest of us :o)

  10. Alayna
    February 8, 2013

    Can I substitute maple syrup for agave?

    • Alayna
      February 8, 2013

      I meant the other way around haha

    • dieffs
      February 8, 2013

      Yes either would be fine 🙂

  11. Judy
    February 22, 2013

    Made these today! They are cooling, will make an instagram post about them and tag you!!

  12. Pingback: Paleo and Southern | A Lovely Place To Land

  13. Mikayla
    March 21, 2013

    Made these for the first time ever, but doubled the crust recipe bc I only had a 9X13 pan. Upon discovering I had forgotten to buy 4 lemons instead of 2, I had to spread the filling in a thin layer, as I only had half the amount I needed. They were STILL delicious and I’ve been struggling not to eat the whole panful! Thank you for your delicious recipe, life has been hard without my sweets….

  14. Pingback: Menu Plan Monday ~ February 15/16 -

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
