@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Paleo Autumn Vegetable Soup (Whole30 Friendly)

20121002-205736.jpg

I’m not the biggest fan of meat. I mean, I like it but after watching a few food documentaries I don’t LOVE it anymore. I try to have it in limited quantities. While doing the Whole30, I ate a lot of meat. More than usual. After my cheat meal last night, I knew I had to make something vegetarian today.
Came up with this hearty Autumn Vegetable Soup, which is packed with flavor. It’s pretty easy to make once you get all your vegetables chopped!

Ingredients
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 medium sized onion, chopped
3 celery stalks, diced
3 carrots, peeled and diced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed (don’t cube it too small, you don’t want it to dissolve too much into the soup)
1/2 tsp all spice
1/2 tsp cayenne (less if you don’t like spicy)
1/4 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried rosemary
1 L organic low sodium vegetable broth
1 can (796ml) no salt added diced tomatoes
2 loosely packed cups kale, coarsely chopped

Method
1.Heat up EVOO in a large skillet. Add minced garlic.
2. Sautee onions, carrots and celery in the skillet until onions begin to become a bit translucent. About 8 mins.
3. Add sauteed mixture and all other ingredients to a large pot mix well and bring to a boil.
4. Let boil for 10 mins. After 10 mins, lower heat and let simmer covered for about 15 mins.
5. Add chopped kale and let simmer for 5 more minutes.

That’s it! I didn’t add ANYTHING to this, but feel free to add whatever you like! Enjoy 🙂

5 comments on “Paleo Autumn Vegetable Soup (Whole30 Friendly)

  1. Betty Rocker
    October 2, 2012

    I love this recipe. Can’t wait to make it! I think I’ll try it with fresh herbs and make it in my rice cooker. Thanks for the inspiration!
    -Betty Rocker

    • dieffs
      October 2, 2012

      You are so welcome! Thank YOU! I wanted to use fresh herbs, but I didn’t have any one hand (I know, shame on me) and I’m trying to do this thing where I only go grocery shopping once a week.. (Im obsessed with the grocery store) haha! Let me know how it turns out:)

  2. Bianca
    October 14, 2012

    I’m going to try this tonight. I can’t wait!

    • dieffs
      October 14, 2012

      Hope you like it!!

  3. Ashley
    March 20, 2013

    Is that meat in the picture? I didn’t see it in the recipe. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 2, 2012 by in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , .
