@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Food Prep 101

Image

Image

Every time I post a food prep picture, I get a TON of feedback on it. I know there’s so many people out there who want to be more organized and prepared but aren’t sure where to start.

Here are a few of the things I do that help me with my food prep. I’m not saying that this is what you should do – this is what works for me. Best thing you can do is get tips from various sources and figure out what works best for you =)

Meal Plan.

Planning ahead of time what you’re going to eat for the week saves so much time and money. Meal planning also helps you figure out exactly how much you need to buy at the grocery store.

MAKE A GROCERY LIST

Grocery lists are SO important. Want to save money, time and be prepared..? MAKE A GROCERY LIST. It will help you get through the grocery store quickly, and help you stay on track while you’re there.

My grocery list – which I’ve posted in a previous post is SO handy. I don’t always buy all of those things, but if I need them I will get them. I always scan through my kitchen before I go to the grocery store to make sure I don’t buy things I don’t need!

While I’m in the grocery store I actually take out a pen and cross things off my list that I’ve already picked up. Sure I might look crazy, but I never forget anything and I only get what I need! =)

Prep your food!

I usually try to prep my food for the week on Sunday’s. This week’s meal prep was quinoa, mashed sweet potatoes, ground turkey, baked chicken and yogurt parfaits. Every week is different! I need variety.

I always bake my chicken breast in a “foil pocket”.

Image

Helps keep it super moist and juicy! I change the spices I bake it with all the time – anything will a low sodium content will do. Change it up, using the same spices over and over again can get boring. This week I used cumin, curry, chili, organic no salt seasoning, and sliced lemon on top. Baked for 45 mins on 350.

I cut up all my veggies and store them so they’re easy to grab all week. Veggies for omelette, salads, snacks, to steam.

Organization is SO important when it comes to food prep. Having all your food in clear containers helps you keep organized. I got a pack of freezer/microwave safe ziplock containers for $10.99! Small price to pay for something so important.

Don’t ever let your food go to waste! If you’ve cut up veggies and you won’t use them in time, FREEZE THEM! Steam them later on, or use them in a stir fry. Freeze your fruits and make sorbet or smoothies with them!

This applies to your actual meals as well. If you aren’t going to be able to finish everything you’ve prepped and think it’s going to go bad, freeze it. Don’t be afraid to re-warm it, as long as it’s within a reasonable time period. Think of it as a healthy homemade TV dinner. =)

The possibilities are endless, all you need is a little creativity.

Remember, spending an hour or two ONE day, will save you that hour or two during the week. More time to workout.. sweet!

Hope this helps guys!

2 comments on “Food Prep 101

  1. Ava
    September 19, 2012

    Hey, just wondering, what is on top of that chicken breast? I want to think it’s olives or something, but part of me is trying to convince me it’s a mutated liver of some sort…

    • dieffs
      September 19, 2012

      On top of the chicken beside the veggies? Nothing. Just baked it with a bunch of spices in a foil packet

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2012 by in Miscellaneous, Nutrition and tagged , , , .
