@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Paleo Plantain Pancakes

20130114-105940.jpg

I had a realllly ripe plantain, and I trying to fry it would have probably been a disaster, so I decided to mash it and make plantain pancakes! I was VERY pleased with the outcome. I hope you all are as well!

Ingredients – Makes 8 small f
1 medium sized very ripe plantain
2 egg whites
1/4 cup almond meal/flour
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking powder
PINCH of salt

Method
Mash plantain well in a large bowl. Add egg whites, and almond milk and mix well. The more you whisk your egg whites into the mixture, the fluffier your pancakes will be.
Add all of the other ingredients and combine until mixture reaches a pancake consistency.
Fry in coconut oil over medium-high heat, about 1 min on each side.

Top with toasted pecans, almonds, whatever you like! These are quite sweet so I would suggest just a small bit of maple syrup if any.

Enjoy!

4 comments on “Paleo Plantain Pancakes

  1. ALexis
    January 14, 2013

    How much coconut flour can i use to replace the almond? Thanks!

    • dieffs
      January 14, 2013

      I would say add 1 tbsp at a time until it reaches the right consistency. It should be no more than 2 tbsps, remember coconut flour really absorbs a lot of the moisture so add it last.

  2. Kate
    February 23, 2013

    I just made these! They were awesome!

  3. Agnes
    February 26, 2013

    I love them! They’re crunchy on the outside and soft on the outside. I had a problem though when frying them as they were sticking to my stainless pan. I pre-heated the pan and fried them in lard. Other then that – they’re great. thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2013 by in Recipes.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 277 other followers

