@dieffs

It's not a diet. It's a lifestyle change.

Whole30 Review

20121001-225953.jpg

I cannot believe that I can actually say this. It almost feels surreal.
Before starting this program I thought I was going to die. Not literally of course, but NO GRAINS? No oatmeal, no Ezekiel, no rice, no quinoa.. How was I EVER going to have any energy? Now I don’t even want it. I will never go back to the way I used to eat.

Before starting I was so skeptical. I did not understand why everyone was so crazy about the “Paleo” Life.. Probably because I’m not the biggest meat eater. It’s really true when they say “Don’t knock it until you try it”. I’m still not the biggest meat eater, but I’ve re-discovered my love for so many fruits and vegetables that I almost forgot about. I love food – in a different way now.

I’m SO happy to say that this program has changed my life.

For those of you who don’t know, the Whole30 is a strict Paleo diet for 30 days. You eliminate sugar, (real and artificial), grains, alcohol, legumes, dairy. Paleo is often referred to as the “caveman diet”.
For more information on the program please click here
You will be able to find all the information you need along with testimonials and shopping lists to help you with the program should you choose to try it.
You can also email me at dieffs20@gmail.com if you want to ask me anything, or just to say hi!

I made notes for the past two weeks on things I noticed changing so I would remember to include them in my review.
Here are a few things I noticed changes with:
Stabilized Energy
I used to take pre-workout energizers, about 3 times a week. I felt like I needed that extra kick to get a good workout in. I’m now experiencing this amazing sustained energy, all day. There are no points of my day where I feel tired and sluggish, just sore from my workout.
Improved Mental Clarity + Focus
This probably has something to do with being more energized. I find my self more focused at work, at home, while working out etc. I just feel like my head is CLEAR. I used to get crazy migraine headaches and I did experience a few headaches during the whole30, but I didn’t have to take anything to get rid of them. Just drank a bunch of water and relaxed until it went away.
Smaller Meals
I used to eat a TON. Both my boyfriend and I ate so much. Maybe our stomachs shrunk? We definitely feel a lot more satisfied with less food.
Less Cravings
WOW! Peanut butter freak NO MORE! I have gotten over my peanut butter addiction! I do not feel the need to eat chocolate, candy, junk food, greasy food, etc anymore! Well, when I would go grocery shopping and pass through those aisles I would feel a small urge, but I did not have to give in to it. Even when I think of having cake now, I think “OK, I can have a bite, that’s all I TRULY want.” It’s amazing what cutting out sugar can do for you!
Better Sleep
My sleep has been AMAZING! I used to wake up 3, 4 times at night. I would wake up and just lay there for an hour, usually play with my phone until I fall back asleep. Not anymore. I sleep SOLID throughout the night. I can officially sleep for 6 hours, roll out of bed and feel so refreshed. Day time naps are no more.
Improved Skin
I used to have pretty bad acne. Not so much that I had pimples everywhere, but more scarring. I’ve never seen my scars fade so quickly over 4 weeks ever in my life! My skin isn’t completely clear, but it has definitely improved.
Improved Mood
I just feel happier in general. I feel clean, I feel light, I feel less bloated and that makes me feel good. The first week or two were ROUGH. My boyfriend is the most patient man in the world dealing with my low low carb attitude.

I’m sure I can think of a ton of other things that changed but these I made a note of.
I couldn’t have done this without my boyfriend. He was my biggest my inspiration throughout it all. Think I’m strong? He gave up smoking. He was a smoker for 10 years and not only did he change his food choices, he gave up smoking at the same time. I’m so proud of the progress he’s made, and the progress we’ve made together. It was a VERY productive month for us.

I’ve decided to stay about 80% paleo and about 80% gluten free. I don’t think I’ll have non-paleo or non-gluten free unless its for my cheat meal. I have a ton of paleo recipes I can’t wait to share with you all!

I want to thank EACH AND EVERY ONE of you for your continuous support and kind words, you all inspire me to want to be better, and set a better example every day.

If you’re thinking of doing the Whole30, stop thinking! Just do it. Get on the Whole9Life website, plan it out, research your food options, get some ideas and start right now. It WILL change your life.

10 comments on “Whole30 Review

  1. Sandra
    October 1, 2012

    Wow. I saw your before/after photo on instagram and thought I would come and read your review! Im inspired to try whole30, I’m already gluten free due to an intolerance but want to give this a try so please keep the recipes coming!! Thanks and well done :)

  2. Andi
    October 3, 2012

    Your blog and instagram have been a HUGE help/inspiration for me. I bought It Starts With Food and read that over the weekend. Today is day 2 of my whole30 and your recipes, etc are going to get me through…Thank you!!!!

    • dieffs
      October 3, 2012

      Aww thank you so much! I’m glad I could motivate and inspire you! Please let me know how you like the recipes!

  3. Lexion
    October 10, 2012

    I’m glad I foudn your instagram, I’m on day 3 of whole 30 and I’m constantly trying to find inspiration and recipes for foods and you have a ton. I definitely see the changes in your body and I cant wait to see how mine changes as well.

    • dieffs
      October 10, 2012

      Wow thank you! I’m glad I could help you out through the program, it was a challenge for me but i loved it! Please tag me in your progress picture I’d love to see it!

  4. Ava
    November 12, 2012

    I am SO GLAD I read this post. I follow you on instagram (I’m avarara) and always love your foodie posts, but I never quite understood Paleo, let alone whole30. This post answered all my questions and I’m now thinking I will definitely start the new year feeling whole30 fresh :D thanks so much for sharing your awesome story. Keep being you, because you’re just so great!

    • dieffs
      January 6, 2013

      Hey Ava!

      Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m glad you’ve decided to take on the Whole30 challenge! Please tag me so I can see your progress! xoxo

  5. Simona
    December 28, 2012

    Congrats on your progress! I seen your latest Jamaica pic and sounds like you feel (and look) awesome! I’ve been trying to research a little about the whole30 but thought maybe you could answer a few questions I have. So I know a lot of your recipes are Paleo and Whole30 friendly, but I understand they don’t want you “creating snacks with whole30 ingredients”. Just wondering have you lightened up on the rules after the 30 days or did you make a lot of these recipes during the first 30 days? I’m thinking of trying the challenge and just trying to gather some menu ideas and all your stuff looks delish! What does a typical day consist of for you? I guess on the challenge and after. Thanks for all your inspiration and help :)

    • dieffs
      January 6, 2013

      Hey Simona!
      Thank you! The progress pic to me really helped me realize that hard work really does pay off!
      A lot of my recipes are made with Whole30 approved ingredients, but not necessarily Whole30 Friendly. I’ve tried to go back and indicate this on the recipes. They do not promote you “paleo-fying” desserts or junk food. One of the things the Whole30 really helps you with is your psychological relationship with food.
      You should really read “It Starts With Food” it explains it all in there!
      A typical day for me would usually consist of eggs, veggies and meat for breakfast, fruit as a morning snack, meat and veggies for lunch, nuts as an afternoon snack, and meat and veggies for dinner. Really try to change up the vegetables you’re eating, and experiment with new ones! As for drinks – I only had herbal teas and water. Green smoothies are great too!

      Hope this helps. XO

      • Simona
        January 9, 2013

        Ok thanks! So did you “paleo-fy” recipes while on the challenge? lol All your recipes look good just wasn’t sure if I’ll still get results if I’m playing around with the plan by making yummy pancakes and stuff :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 30, 2012 by in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 276 other followers

